Correction to “Another Palestinian perspective”

My statement that the Palestinian Authority told Pastor Naim Khoury “to shut the doors–they were closing down the church” in Bethlehem is not accurate. After a further conversation with Pastor Steven Khoury, I realize that the church was told that the Palestinian Authority no longer considers them legitimate and will no longer accept any paper work from them, such as baptismal or wedding certificates. Obviously, this appears to be a serious infringement of religious freedom, and remains a matter of grave concern. I apologize for creating confusion by my earlier statement that the church is being shut down. Thank you. Please keep my friend Steven Khoury and his father Pastor Naim Khoury, and their ministry among their fellow Palestinians, in your prayers. 

Leave a comment